Page 1 of 1

2011 Richardson Trophy Regatta

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:54 am
by Dan McNamara
2010 Richardson Trophy Regatta

Re: 2011 Richardson Trophy Regatta

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 1:21 pm
by Spaeth
Thanks for checking in on the YRUGL web site and forum. The 2011 Richardson Trophy Regatta is scheduled to be held on October 7th-9th at CMRC. Some teams have been determined and others are in the process of holding their qualifiers as we move through the summer. More to come so check back for addional updates on this year's event.
Scott Spaeth
651 291-7430

Re: 2011 Richardson Trophy Regatta

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 9:00 pm
by Spaeth
Most of you who have received invitations have seen the NoR. For all others, here it for you to see. It looks like there is a very good probablity of having twelve teams this year to compete at CMRC on TOM 28's. Check back for the list of competiors that have paid and are on also going to be listed on the CMRC site soon.
Scott Spaeth
(229.69 KiB) Downloaded 905 times

Re: 2011 Richardson Trophy Regatta

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:54 pm
by Spaeth
So here we go, here are paid competitos for this year's Richardson Trophy Regatta being held at CMRC on 10/7, 10/8 and 10/9.

1) Peter Wichwire, LYRA
2) Magnus Sandberg, LYRA

3) Chris VanTol, ILYA
4) Josh Kerst, ILYA

5) Mark Johson, LMSRF
6) Don Wilson, LMSRF

7) Dan McNamara, LSYA

The above bios will be posted at CMRC official site.

Three others have accepted invitations, but as of yet not paid their entrance fees. Per the NoR, the allowable two slot per Lake Asssociation, deadline for was on 9/8. With the passing of that date, YRUGL OA is now seeking competitors at large from qualified Lake Association areas to fill any open slots. Simple math says that number is 2. Phone lines and emails are buzzing. Stay tuned for updates.
Scott Spaeth, President

Re: 2011 Richardson Trophy Regatta

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:31 am
by Spaeth
2011 YRUGL Richardson Trophy Regatta

October 7 – October 9, 2011
These below competitors have paid and have been directed to send their personal and team bios to CMRC for posting. Please register and direct your bio/emails to: and He will be responsible to get your bios properly posted to the CMRC site under the Richardson Event Page.
1) Peter Wickwire, LYRA ]
2) Magnus Sandberg, LYRA
3) Chris VanTol, ILYA
4) Josh Kerst, ILYA
5) Mark Johnson, LMSRF
6) Don Wilson, LMSRF
7) Ben Marden, LMSRF
8) Steve Lowery, LMSRF
9) Dan McNamara, LSYA
10) Spencer Colpaert, DRYA

These competitors have or will accept invitations, but as of yet have not paid their entry fees. As of this day and hour, both women and their team mates are competing for the Canadian National Match Race Championship at RCYC. Once they have paid your entry fees to YRUGL, they will also be directed send your bio’s to Tod at CMRC. Please give this entry payment a priority so that we can properly post your bios at the Richardson Event Page:

11) Anne Marie Shewfelt, LYRA
12) Sharon Ferris, LYRA

Submitted by: Scott Spaeth 9/23/2011

Re: 2011 Richardson Trophy Regatta

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:47 am
by Spaeth
October 9, 2011

Light air plagued the race course for the final day of racing at the Richardson Trophy, the last Great Lakes match race event of the season. The past 2 days had beautiful winds and weather for full days of racing, but the breeze did not carry over to Day 3, which only allowed for a mere two flights. The concluding flight of semi-finals was the first flight of the day, and after that only one petit-final match was sailed. After lengthy postponements, the Race Committee decided that the wind was not filling in enough to continue racing. Don Wilson was crowned the 2011 Richardson Trophy Champion.

Don Wilson and 2008 Richardson Champion Steve Lowery safely secured finals spots by defeating their Semi-Final opponents in two 3-0 sweeps. The last Semi-Final flight was the only one fired off before an extended postponement left racers tied up alongside the houseboat. Racers enjoyed some nice rest and relaxation time on what was probably the last warm day of the season.

Racing picked up again for one match in the Petit Finals. Third and fourth places were ultimately decided by a single Petit Final match that dragged on for 20 minutes and resulted with Peter Wickwire in third overall. The first race attempt saw Wickwire up against Josh Kerst. Wickwire earned a penalty for a windward/leeward situation at the start that would have given Kerst a point had the race not been abandoned due to failing winds. The exact opposite circumstances appeared in the second attempt of the match when Kerst carried a penalty and couldn't catch up to Wickwire.

Another postponement was held until Race Committee determined that the current conditions were insufficient for racing. With no final series completed, the umpires reverted to ISAF rules to determine the final standings. Amongst a challenging fleet including previous Richardson champions Lowery and Chris VanTol, Don Wilson was deemed the event winner. The Richardson wraps up a highly successful season for Wilson at the Chicago Match Race Center.

Final Results:

1) Don Wilson

2) Steve Lowery

3) Peter Wickwire

4) Josh Kerst

5) Chris VanTol

6) Ben Marden

7) Magnus Sandberg

8) Mark Johnson

9) Spencer Colpaert

10) Dan McNamara

11) Eric Christman

Re: 2011 Richardson Trophy Regatta

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:19 pm
by Spaeth
test post